Undercurrent blog tour

Today is my turn on the Undercurrent blog tour – I have the great job of posting some content about how Undercurrent came to be, but first here’s the synopsis of the book:

Phoebe and her disabled husband, Martyn, move into a new house in a village on the edge of County Durham. They plan to lead a quiet existence, a set up that suits them both.

Then Anna, who lives over the road and is bored of spending her days alone, seeks friendship with Phoebe and events take a dark turn.

Phoebe has secrets and is haunted by her past and Anna’s arrival in her life may prove to be the catalyst for her undoing.

What is Phoebe hiding and why are she and her husband so reclusive?

When Anna gets caught in a storm and is rescued by Phoebe the truth becomes apparent and Anna is thrown into danger.

Is there a difference between madness and evil?

and now for:

How Undercurrent Came to be

I’ve always wanted to be a writer but like many aspiring novelists, life always got in the way. It was moving house to a village next to a river that finally clinched it for me. The idea for Undercurrent came to me one evening and it was a ‘now or never’ sort of moment. The main character was a strong protagonist from the outset, her persona crystal clear in my mind. The others came later as the story progressed.

I started putting all my ideas down on paper and dipping in and out of it for many, many months, deleting parts and adding to others, sending it off to literary agents only for it to be rejected. With hindsight, I fully understand those rejections. Undercurrent was still in its raw form and needed to be refined. So I spent the next six months doing just that and then sent it off again. More rejections followed.

My writing position is perched in the kitchen next to the window which overlooks the river. It was that particular view that kept me going. Through all the rejections (and there were many!) through all those moments when agents and publishers showed a strong interest only to turn it down, it was my little seat at that kitchen window that saw me through! I’m sitting there now as I write this, except of course this time I have a different perspective. Undercurrent was accepted by Bloodhound Publishers on 2nd December 2016 and the whole thing took me complete surprise. I saw the email and steeled myself for yet another publisher turning me down as they had only had my manuscript for a week. I’d had a flood of rejections that week and was beginning to think my refinements and edits to Undercurrent were a waste of time. It took at least two reads for it to sink in. Most writers will know that feeling of receiving yet another one of those emails or letters – that gut sinking sensation that your ideas and hours of effort are simply not good enough. Except this time a publisher did actually want my book. I signed a contract with Bloodhound Books the following day and have never looked back. It’s been hectic, tiring (I have a day job) and a steep learning curve but I have loved every minute of it and am currently in the process of arranging book signings and setting up a brand spanking new website. You can follow me on Twitter @thewriterjude or look my author page up on Facebook at J A Baker Author. My website is jabakerauthor.com where you can find out more about me and the latest news and events. Enjoy Undercurrent and feel free to use the contact section on my website if you have any queries or want to get in touch.

Standard

One thought on “Undercurrent blog tour

Leave a Reply

